Is the iPhone ready to be my Guide?

January 10, 2007

I was at the Java One in 1999 (?) when Sun launched the KVM, their prototype small footprint Java VM. Palm had it installed on the Palm V which they were selling at the conference at half price. So I bought one (of course) and attended the keynote on the last day given by the late Douglas Adams. He had the device and he talked about the Hitch Hikers Guide to the Galaxy, and it was all very warm and fuzzy, and kinda cool and forward looking, although we all really knew that the Palm V with the Sun KVM wasn’t exactly The Guide. And ever since then I’ve been saying that I would not buy another handheld device until such time as it was what I always really wanted, something which could truely aspire to that lofty goal. With Apples launch of the iPhone, I might just be ready to open my wallet.

Leave a Reply

